Verses to teach

During a podcast I was listening to a couple months ago,  a mom was giving an example of how she used bible verses in her parenting with her two young kids.  She said she has two little kids.  In the example, they both wanted popsicles.  The older one said, “Me first!”  The mom responded with something along these lines, “Jesus says those who are first shall be last and those who are last shall be first.”  She ended up giving her older child a popsicle second and the more humble child in this situation a popsicle first.

I was so struck by this example and was thinking how I want to strive to do that in my parenting.  This morning while I was praying, a few bible verses stuck out to me as some of those verses that I could use.  Obviously I could use all of them, but these ones really stuck out to me.  I’m going to try to write out some of them that my heart is moved by in hopes that I will begin to memorize them so they’ll be fresh on my mind as I need to use them.

When someone strikes you on your right cheek, turn the other one to him as well.  Matthew 5:39

Should anyone press you into service for one mile, go with him for two miles.  Matthew 5:41

Give to the one who asks of you, and do not turn your back on one who wants to borrow.  Matthew 5:42

Leave a Reply

