Gifts

“Every good and perfect gift is from above.” James 1:17

The other night I was listening to Go Forth with Heather and Becky.  It was an interview with a Mom whose baby survived pregnancy and delivery after given very slim chances to live by the doctors due to the baby being diagnosed with Trisomy 13.  During the interview, she talked about her perspective of viewing her daughter as a gift from God.  She said whenever her daughter throws her peaches on the floor, she takes a moment to praise God and thank Him for her because she is a gift.

I’m also reading this book about Chiara Corbella Petrillo.  After her and her husband got married, they found out they were pregnant with a baby who had anencephaly.  Their baby died shortly after birth.  Soon they found out they were pregnant again.  As their pregnancy went on, they found out their child was going to die shortly after birth, as well.  When she became pregnant with their third child, Chiara found out that she had cancer.  She died months after her son was born.  In the book, the author makes it very apparent that Chiara viewed her children and her husband as gifts from God.  Although short, she was grateful to God for the time she did have with them.

I hope and pray to develop and keep this perspective, especially in the difficult moments.  I know that Craig, Henry, Baby P, my family, my friends – everyone – are gifts from God to me.  I know this.  But I want to intentionally live it.  I pray it’ll help me to be more grateful, patient, trusting, and loving to each person I encounter.  I also pray it’ll help me to see God more in each person.  Gifts are to be cherished, cared for, and appreciated.  I hope and pray I make people feel this way in the way that I treat them.

 

Leave a Reply

